Information about the region

Information about the region

The East Kazakhstan region was formed in 1932, in 1997 the Semipalatinsk region was annexed to the territory of the region. The administrative center is the city of Ust-Kamenogorsk, founded in 1720 and located at the confluence of the Irtysh and Ulba rivers.



283 226 sq. km.


Neighboring regions and countries:

in the northwest - with the Pavlodar region of Kazakhstan;
in the west - with the Karaganda region of Kazakhstan;
in the south - with the Almaty region of Kazakhstan;
in the east - with the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region of China;
in the north - with the Altai Territory and the Altai Republic of the Russian Federation.


Climatic conditions

A sharply continental climate with large seasonal and daily temperature differences. Summers are hot and moderately dry, while winters are cold and snowy, and moderately cold in the foothills. The average temperatures of the winter months range from -12°C to -15°C. The average maximum temperatures in July are from +25°C to +30°C. The average annual precipitation is from 300 to 600 mm.


Geographical data

A small territory of Eastern Kazakhstan is occupied by the Altai and Saur-Tarbagatai mountains with eternal glaciers on the tops, the Kalba mountain range, shallow rolling plains, the Kazakh melkosopochnik, wide basins, extensive plains along rivers.

More than 40% of all water reserves of Kazakhstan are concentrated in the East Kazakhstan region. About 885 rivers with a length of more than 10 km flow on the territory of East Kazakhstan Region.

About the region

The region consists of 5 districts:

  1. Abaysky-center village Karaaul
  2. Ayagozsky-the center of the city of Ayagoz
  3. Beskaragaysky-center Beskaragay village (Bolshaya Vladimirovka)
  4. Borodulikhinsky-center village of Borodulikha
  5. Glubokovsky-the center of the settlement of Glubokoe
  6. Zharminsky-center Kalbatau village (Georgievka)
  7. Zaisansky — the center of the city of Zaisan
  8. Altaysky (Zyryanovsky) — the center of the city of Altai (Zyryanovsk)
  9. Katon-Karagaysky-center Ulken-Naryn village (Bolshenarymskoye)
  10. Kokpektinsky-center village of Kokpekty
  11. Kurshimsky-center Kurshim village (Kurchum)
  12. Tarbagataysky-center Aksuat village
  13. Ulansky-center Kasym Kaisenov village (Youth)
  14. Urdzharsky-center Urdzhar village
  15. Shemonaikhinsky-the center of the city of Shemonaikha

4 cities of regional subordination (city administrations):

  1. Kurchatov
  2. Ridder (Leninogorsk)
  3. Semey (Semipalatinsk)
  4. Ust-Kamenogorsk

In total, there are 15 districts, 10 cities, 3 villages, 752 rural settlements in the region.


Population 1 355,9

(as of June 1, 2021, thousand people)


GRP 104,4

(January-March 2021,%)


Inflation 9,2

(June 2021 to December 2020,%)


Average monthly salary 250 976

(I quarter of 2021, tenge)


Unemployment rate 4,8

(I quarter of 2021,%, estimate)

*Excluding small businesses engaged in entrepreneurial activities.

Install the application:
1) Open the website in Safari
2) Click save
3) Add to home screen